top of page
Writer's pictureBecca

True Crime: Podcasts

Updated: Sep 22, 2022

I know I reference podcasts I've been listening to, so I decided to give y'all a running list of which ones I listen to, rate them on a scale of 5 stars and give a brief description of each. Keep in mind, these are all available on Spotify and some are exclusive to Spotify.


This will be a running list and I will update is as I find more


As of 09/22/2022


Voices for Justice: 5/5!

Sarah is too familiar with family being involved in a true crime case. She takes extra care to address the concerns of the family and she addresses how people can help the case.


Truer Crime: 5/5!

This is my new favorite. The only thing I don't like is that it's only one season right now because it's a really new podcast. I love how the host advocates for the victims and their families. She also gets interviews from some of the family members and it's just heartbreaking to hear, but it's something not a lot of other podcasts do. The host also examines the crimes through an intersectional lens, examining why police may not have conducted the investigation properly


Crime Junkie from AudioChuck: 3/5

Like Truer Crime, the hosts also get interviews with family members and try to advocate for the victim's families. They even use proceeds to donate to charities related to the victims e.g. centers for domestic violence victims and the DNA Doe Project. The only thing I don't really like is they get a little chatty sometimes, and sometimes it feels like they're a little happy when they talk about the crimes. Another thing I like is that they also discuss unsolved crimes like missing person cases and unsolved murders.


While they do take their time to address concerns of the family, some of their content is not accurate


Serial Killers from Parcast: 3/5

This is the one that got me into true crime podcasts. As you can probably guess, they focus on serial killers. I really like this one because it's in a documentary format. Like, here are the facts. Make your own judgments. There is no speculation or hearsay. They stick to what the police and media report that can be verified. The only thing I don't like is they don't really try to give back to the people affected by the crimes


By the by, they focus on the killer more than the victim and that loses points in my book


Cults from Parcast: 3/5

As you can probably guess, they focus on cults. I like and dislike the same things about this one as Serial Killers


By the by, they focus on the killer more than the victim and that loses points in my book


Female Killers from Parcast: 3/5

This one focuses on female killers from gangsters to bank robbers, serial killers to cult leaders and con artists. Of the podcasts from Parcast, this one has one of the widest scopes. They don't focus on one particular type of crime like Cults and Serial Killers do. It's always interesting to hear about female criminals because a lot of people don't see women as potentially criminal, but that is absolutely not true


By the by, they focus on the killer more than the victim and that loses points in my book

8 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page