top of page
Writer's pictureBecca

TV: Titans

Spoiler alert: Titans on HBO MAX


I'm starting this series because I have been binging a lot of TV shows and movies recently that Frankie hasn't seen and that my friends haven't seen. I need someone to talk to about them!


I'm going to burn a little space so no spoilers accidentally get included in the preview for this post. First I want to say I am not a DC person usually but I am obsessed with this series! I typically cannot binge TV shows without getting bored after a few episodes, but this show has consumed me for the past week. I watch it every night after I get off of work and when I go on my lunch breaks. Solid 5/7! The only reason I don't rank it higher is that it does get a little weird in some episodes and I had to backtrack to make sure I didn't miss anything.


Okay now for the important stuff. The big bad in Season 1 is Trigon, Raven's dad. From the beginning, you get to see Raven, Starfire, and Beast Boy all exploring and trying to master their powers. Dick Grayson is already a fully-fledged hero with a tragic backstory (no shocker there). One of my favorite things about this series is the friendship that develops between Raven and Starfire. As a millennial who grew up on the animated Teen Titans, this friendship has always been one of my favorites, and I'm so glad they incorporated it. It also introduces Donna Troy, Hawk, and Dove. Before watching this show, I had no idea who Donna Troy was, but I absolutely love the character now.


In season 2, the big bad is Deathstroke (yes, THE Deathstroke). One really cool thing they did in the second season is incorporating Deathstroke's kids, Jericho and Rose. Another bad in season 2 is Cadmus Industries, but that really kind of takes a backseat to Deathstroke. It's more of a side plot that helps develop SuperBoy and expand on Beast Boy's powers. Season 2 also shows Raven learning and mastering her changing and strengthening powers. Dick also grows into being Nightwing, and Rose accepts the abilities and powers her dad taught/gave her. Jason goes back to Gotham. One thing I love about this season is the fact that Ian Glen aka Jorah Mormont plays Bruce Wayne. There are also a couple of episodes where Dick is losing his marbles and the banter between him and imaginary Bruce is just too perfect. Bruce even performs in a burlesque show at one point, and that had to be one of my favorite scenes of the series. I could not stop laughing. It was phenomenal.


I'm only a few episodes into season 3 at the moment, but so far, they're setting up Red Hood to be the big bad this season. I haven't seen the whole Lazarus pit thing yet with Jason, but I expect they'll probably show it soon. If you have seen all of Season 3, please no spoilers. I am so excited to see what they do with the Red Hood!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page