top of page
Writer's pictureBecca

Another Life Update: we got Cat #2!

So I worked at animal shelter towards the end of 2022 and early 2023. If you know anything about me, you know how much I love animals, especially kitty cats. My mom, my dad, my brother and my husband all knew this was a bad idea because I would adopt an animal. I denied, denied, denied. They were right.


When we were touring the campus, I saw this cute little sickly Siamese cat in the hospital. For anyone unaware, my childhood cat was Nuggs, a (kind of?) Siamese car. We never knew how old he was. He was just there, living in the neighbors barn. We adopted him when my Jack Russell Terrier passed away. I was probably about 9 or 10. He passed when I was a junior in high school. This is a picture of us

So of course, when I saw that sweet little scrungly baby, I knew I had to meet him. I stalked the website until he was available. He became available on my second day there. Of course, I had to go visit him on my lunch.


For context, me and my husband were married 10/7/2022. That is what the shelter estimated his birthday was. I knew it had to be a sign. When I opened his cage, he just clung to me and wouldn't let go. I knew we had to have him. I texted my husband and told him he had to come by the shelter that day to meet Simon (name the shelter gave him). He clung to my husband too. We had to have him and adopted him that night. After a week of antibiotics, he started to perk up and show us his quirks.


Fast forward almost 2 years, and Simon is living his best, spoiled indoor kitty life. We kept the name because it fit so well. He is 1000% my husband's cat, and I love that. I have Ellie and my hubs has Simon.


He has brought a lot of chaos into our home but also, a lot of joy. Because of him, Ellie is more spunky and energetic than she has been in years. She's 11 now so seeing her romp and play just warms my heart.


Here are pictures of Simon when we first adopted him vs. now

Yes, that looks like a spay. He was crytocordid (his testes didn't drop)

Indoor living suits him well 🥰

0 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page