top of page
Writer's pictureBecca

Mental Health: Gifted Kid Burnout

Anyone who was a gifted or smart kid, probably has experienced this at one point or another. In all honesty, for me at least, it's really hard to distinguish between what's depression and what's burn out. The lack of motivation, the loss of interest. All of it. That's why I haven't been as active on here as I was for a while. It's been really hard to motivate myself to even work I have to get done, much less something I'm doing just for fun.


I've been working on the slides for my dissertation proposal, which has been pushed back AGAIN, and it's like pulling teeth. It's so hard to motivate myself to work on them. I think part of it is because the deadline got pushed back again, and recently, I've only been able to get work done with some kind of time pressure. Even writing this post is difficult. I haven't had spoons in a while now. Even when I talk to my psychiatrist, she has trouble differentiating what's burn out from being in school so long and what's my depression. Sometimes I wish my brain worked like it's supposed to. I would give almost anything for my brain to produce the neurotransmitters it's supposed to.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page