top of page
Writer's pictureBecca

Mentally Ill Meal Hacks: Ramen

Originally, I was going to categorize this under the Redneck Recipes, but it's really more of a cooking hack than it is an actual recipe. I have very limited cooking skills, and some days it's just asking too much for me to go through the hassle of cooking a meal. Because of this, I eat a lot of ramen. Not the fancy kind either, the $.40 per package kind. As anyone who has eaten this kind of Ramen knows, it's always better when you cook the noodles in the water. In fact, most people cook it on the stove. However, I'm here to change that for you.


The first thing you'll need is Tupperware or any microwave-safe food container. I couldn't find an exact size, unfortunately, but the ones I always use are considered "Large" by Glad. Here is a picture for reference.



You'll take your ramen out of the package and place it in the container. Then, you'll add enough water to fill approximately half of the container. Once that's done, add your lid and seal 3/4 of it. You'll want to make sure it's not sealed all the way around so it doesn't explode in the microwave. Microwave on high for 5 minutes and 30 seconds. I like my noodles a little al dente, but you can microwave them longer if you prefer softer noodles.


I usually drain most of the water out of the container because I'm not a huge broth person, but leave as much as you would like. Please note that the less water you leave in, the more concentrated the flavor on the noodles will be. Once you're happy with the amount of water in the container, add your flavoring packet and any other seasonings you like. Mix it well and let it sit for about 3 minutes. Lastly, put on your favorite movie and enjoy!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page